Senior Custodian

Standard

A senior custodian is like upgrading your responsibilities as a station leader but this time, it is more on money. You are called senior custodian/cashier or SC and you are in-charge of all the monetary values of the store. This time, the task is really tough that you might put yourself at risk because it involves money, big amount of money. Not just money, your task also includes paper works, receipts, receiving and negotiating with the store’s pick-up bank teller about deposits and all.

Money is the main part of the task, you are in-charge in keeping all the store’s money and cash flows intact. You and your co-SC’s are the only one who know about the volt’s combination where all the money were put. If you are the SC on duty, you are the only one that will give the cashier their beginning cash fund. If the counter crews are in need of coins and bills, you should’ve prepared it in advance before the peak hours because during peak hours you will also act as a station leader in helping the counter station. You are also tasked to ensure all the receipts are intact at the end of the day and that all of it were signed by the manager on duty. Speaking of bank teller, every morning he visits the store to collect the deposits from yesterday’s sales and payment for the coins and bills that you’ve requested everyday.  That coins and bills that you received, you need to recount it and place the counted coins in a plastic cellophane and ready in case the counter crews are in need of change.

Being an SC, your task includes “payroll”. You are in-charge of store’s payroll every 15th and 30th of the month and because the store is still not using the bio-metrics, it will take a long time doing the task. In paper works, you are also task to do the reimbursement, the store’s food charges, and other paper works.

At this point of my stay at Jollibee, it is when I continue my studies and I am really having a hard time in my situation. Imagine yourself a regular college student carrying all the units required and at the same time working part-time. What makes it difficult is my job as an SC because I had to juggle from work to school and if I have free time at school, juggle back to work and then back to school again especially when it’s the for the payroll because I had to meet the deadline in submitting the payroll, time-cards and other accomplishment reports.

This is when I said to myself “Mo.graduate na jud kos Jollibee.” So, I really quit working part-time and decided to focus on my studies. That time it is already okay to stop working part-time because my younger sister, whom I gave way for my studies, already finished her degree in college. From time to time, I missed being a service crew at Jollibee, enjoying the busy hours and juggling through work and school, so when I have time I sometimes visit the store I worked for.

Leave a Reply

